Wednesday, October 20, 2021

How to Renew a Car with the LTO (Philippines) 2021

 To renew your car with the LTO you'll need several things.

1) A copy of your car insurance

2) A copy of your old car registration

3) A copy of your car emission test.

Car Renewal in the Philippines and Costs

For car insurance, our 2004 vehicle costs us 6,000 PHP. Your car insurance cost will vary depending on your car's model and coverage. 

For the car emission test. It cost me 600 PHP. Rappler says the cost for Jeeps is 300 PHP while the price is 500 PHP for motorcycles.

Before going to get a car emission test. Have a photocopy of your OR/CR ready which they will ask from you.

There are usually car emission test centers near LTO offices but I used the one near our house (BOHER Emission Testing Center). You can go there in the morning and get a slot number with a time from their attendant who hangs out near the street so you can come back when it's your time. Mine said to come back around 12-12:30.

IMPORTANT INFO! The car emission test is only good for two months. I had to redo my car's emission test because it was already expired when I finally had time to go to LTO to go through the process.

LTO Car Renewal Process 2021

Before heading to the LTO, have a copy of your car's insurance and the car emission test. There will be an information booth at the front where they'll check your documents and give you a number. Wait for your name to be called and they'll just tell you the price you'll pay for the renewal at the cashier. I paid 1,780 PHP to renew the registration of our 2004 sedan.

IMPORTANT TIP! You don't have to bring your car with you. It can be hard to find parking near an LTO office so just ride your bike or take public transpo to the LTO and don't forget your documents.

How Long Does it Take to Renew Your Car Registration?

I went there around 1 PM and the whole process took about 1 and a half hours.

When to Renew My Car?

The schedule for your car renewal deadline depends on your plate number. The table below is from the LTO. Based on the table below a car with the plate number XRF 765 has a deadline of May 14th.

The LTO has extended the deadline several times due to the Covid lockdowns so please check the news for any announcement for any deadline extension.

LAST DIGIT OF THE PLATE NUMBER (Monthly Schedule)
              1 - January
 2 - February
 3 - March
 4 - April
 5 - May
 6 - June
 7 - July
 8 - August
 9 - September
 0 - October
Note: Vehicles may be registered one month in advance

WEEKLY SCHEDULE IS BASED ON THE 2ND TO THE LAST DIGIT OF THE PLATE NUMBER

2ND TO THE LAST DIGIT OF THE PLATE NUMBERSCHEDULE / WEEKLY DEADLINE
1        2        31ST TO THE 7TH DAY OF THE MONTH
4        5        68TH TO THE 14TH DAY OF THE MONTH
0        7        815TH TO THE 21ST DAY OF THE MONTH
0        9        022ND TO THE LAST DAY OF THE MONTH

How Can the Process be Improved?

This is more of a rant section. I do hope they allow online car registration renewal now that we're in 2021 and still in a pandemic. The car emission test is the only step where you need to bring your car and the LTO would also have a copy of the car emission test results in their system that they could check.

My suggestion is for there to be a code included in the car emission test result that the car owner can just enter in the LTO website to renew their car's registration. People should not have to take a day off from work just to renew their vehicles.


Monday, August 6, 2018

Cars, Motorcycle, tech, design, automobiles, and art website

There's a new online magazine for anyone who wants to keep track of cool cars and rides as well as new tech, design and architecture. The site is Kulturado.com and I hope it gets a lot more popular as it also features cool bikes and gear. Go check it out!

Friday, June 5, 2015

Running and Trying to Stay Active

It's been a while since my last post. Just because I've been busy with a new job and all :P In between I've been running marathons and taking care of the kids :) Oh, and sometimes I box with a trainer at Elorde with vouchers I bought on CashCashPinoy :D got a good deal on that one :)

Monday, June 11, 2012

Vasectomy in the Philippines

First off, hello! I haven't written a thing here for ages! The last time i wrote here, I didn't have my first born who turned out to be a boy and then quickly followed by my little girl! Our second baby came a bit unexpectedly soon (well, the first one was unplanned too but I'm very happy to have them nevertheless) so me and the wife started to talk about permanent family planning methods. We originally had wanted to ask her Ob-Gyne about a tubal ligation a few weeks before our youngest was born but it didn't push through. Having two little kids at home also meant she had very little time to go back to her doctor for pills. Although she breastfeeds the kids, (this suppresses her egg production) I knew we couldn't trust it because it failed and our second baby got conceived. Long story short, I knew that the only viable option for my family was to undergo a vasectomy.

The first doctor quoted me a price of 20 to 25,000 pesos for the procedure so I had to inquire at a public hospital because that price was just too high for me what with the expenses for the two kids. My wife called up doctors at a leading hospital where urologists would usually be found (come on, guess a little) and the doctor's secretary quoted 7-10k for the doctor's professional fee (i won't give his final price so you guys should call your urologist for this) plus 5k for the OR if it was just a local anesthesia and 15k if it was done under general anesthesia.

Since June 11 is sandwiched between a holiday and the weekend, I left work for today and saw the urologist. Going there I was not expecting that he can accommodate my request that the procedure be done the same day I meet him for the first time but he was able to schedule me today. I went there alone since the wife had to take care of the kids and we had to hide it from the other members of the family since we're sure they would not support our decision.

 After lunch, I went to the OR, stripped down to my socks and got dressed in the typical OR gown, cap, and shoe covers and waited... and waited... until he finally called me in to the OR. The doctor was assisted by a Nepalese medicine student who applied the anesthesia on my scrotum. This was the most painful part of the operation, but if you've had a circumcision before, it kinda (I can't really remember that part of my life) feels that way. For the gory details, go to youtube, but my operation lasted 50 minutes and that includes the prep for the procedure. The actual procedure lasted 30 minutes though. There will be times that you will cringe (well, two guys are tugging on your balls!) and you will feel uncomfortable and feel the pressure on your testicles but overall, the local anesthesia does its job well. The Nepalese doctor put band-aid on both the wounds (it's a bilateral vasectomy) before sending me off.

 So finally, it was over, I didn't feel woozy, and I was able to walk unassisted to do the post op stuff like paying bills. The doc prescribed Celebrex for the pain (once a day) and Cefuroxime (2x a day for a week) for my antibiotics. I'm writing this stuff 6 hours from the time of operation and when I got home, my balls were swollen. I've been walking around taking care of the bills so that may not have helped at all. I put ice on it for the swelling since that's what good ol' trusty Google told me to do.

 So, if you're planning on getting a vasectomy in the Philippines, hopefully I was able to help you out with some info. It's generally cheaper to have it done at a public hospital and I suggest that you go there with your wife so she can take care of the bill paying but I survived on my own. I'm also processing my refund from Philhealth and for this, I needed to get the surgery record (from the Operating Room) and the Official Receipts from my urologist and the Operating Room. I still need to get the form back from my urologist (claim form 2) then I need my employers to sign the claim form 1. I'll write about it next time here. Comments are very welcome! :D

Thursday, January 12, 2012

It's been a while since I made a post, i think I average one post a year since last year :)) it's not like anyone's reading this shit anyway so it's like an online diary of some sort. Stuff that has happened so far, got promoted at the 9-5, married the GF, had a son, and there's another baby on the way :D

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Kurdi files harassment suit against Geisler

Bocaue, Bulacan - Baron Geisler pleaded not guilty to the act of lasciviousness suit filed against him by actress Yasmin Kurdi. When asked by this female reporter about Kurdis' allegation that he asked her for sex through SMS, Geisler said "Yes, I did text her to ask if she wants to have sex with me but it had a smiley face with its tongue out like this" and Geisler proceeded to smile and stick his tongue out like the smiley icon. Geisler proceeded to flick his tongue up and down and winked at this reporter repeatedly while doing the same motion with his tongue.

When asked if he was only joking about having sex with Kurdi, Geisler said "Of course, I was joking! Kaya nga may smiley face eh! At isa pa, sino ba naman ang gustong makipag sex sa baklang yun? Hahaha" was his reply. "Pero seriously, nasasaktan ako sa mga issue na ganito." Geisler said while holding back tears and putting his arms around this reporter. "I'm just a wounded man who needs company.I am not the sex maniac that everyone thinks I am. Ang gusto ko lang ma respeto bilang isang magaling na Pilipinong aktor." The actor then sobbed and wept on this reporter's breasts.

*this is all lies!!!!

Friday, December 11, 2009

Natalie Portman on a bike


Oh my God... I'm in love again (sorry honey, but you always knew I had an on again off again crush on Natalie Portman) Number 1, she looks amazing, Number 2, she rides an awesome looking bike....