Thursday, December 25, 2008

Hypokalemia is a bitch

There are times when I suddenly wake up unable to FULLY move either my arms or my legs, when that happens i KNOW i'm hypokalemic AGAIN. Yep, it's a bitch. And it happened to me last night AGAIN. For those who don't know, hypokalemia is when your body lacks potassium. Potassium is actually purty important to your muscles, so when your potassium level goes below normal (normal is 3.5 to 5.5 mmol/L whatever that means) then you're screwed. When this happens, i usually cry like a little girl, ahmm, i mean i limp around the house looking for a banana.... Yes, a friggin banana. Or, if I'm in a hurry to get well (when i need to drive or need to travel) I take Kalium Durules which isn't so easy to buy here in my widdle Asian country. Back to my story, it's Christmas morning... Yes the 25th of December and it's 6:45 AM I wake up with an urge to scratch my back... I lift my left arm over my head to my back... FAIL... try it again... FAIL... ho crap, hypokalemia you are such a bitch... I wake up my girlfriend who is sleeping beside me... Honey,... Honey,... I'm hypokalemic again.... please get me a banana... or Kalium... so it's 6:45 AM and there's no store open, i tell her to mix me oral salts for the mean time, (glucolyte was the brand i took yesterday) coz that also has potassium in it. I drink a whole mixture then go back to sleep hoping my Potassium level will be ok when i wake up. I wake up at 11, i try to lift my arms..... FAIL.... i wiggle like a worm and I try to stand up... Look for my bananas... Where's my girlfriend? Did she get me Kalium? Grrr... Fail... She comes in the room, I'm grumpy as hell, (hey, you would be grumpy too if you can't scratch your back) Here, I got you bananas... She says,... I take some... I'm still angry coz I still dont have Kalium, she knows I'm pissed off, she wears her pants, and says she's going to town to buy me Kalium... I said, fuhgeddabout it, I'll just eat more bananas till I get well... SO there, I spent Christmas day eating bananas (six to be exact) until I got well, my GF's sister was kind enough to drop by the pharmacy to get me two caps of the now useless Kaliums since the Bananas already worked for me. Merry Christmas everybody, if anyone also has Hypokalemia, lemme know, please I'd hate to be the only person who suddenly goes limp :P

No comments: